HISASHI YAMAMOTO

University of Chicago Professor Emeritus Chubu University, Molecular Catalyst Research Center, Director and Professor



Title of Lecture: "Catalytic Oxidation, Metal and Non-Metal Systems"

Phone: +81-90-9129-1867, +1-773-215-1593

Email: yamamoto@uchicago.edu

Education:

1971 Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, Harvard University
1967 BS Organic Chemistry, Kyoto University

Research and Professional Experience

1971-1972	Researcher, Toray Industries, Inc. (Prof. J. Tsuji, Adviser)
1972-1976	Instructor, Kyoto University
1976-1977	Lecturer, Kyoto University
1977-1980	Associate Professor, University of Hawaii
1980-1983	Associate Professor, Nagoya University
1983-2002	Professor, Nagoya University
2003	Professor Emeritus, Nagoya University
2002-	Professor, The University of Chicago
2012-	Professor Emeritus, University of Chicago
2012-	Professor and Director of Molecular Catalyst Research Center, Chubu University
2012-	Research Supervisor, JST Crest Project of Molecular Technology

Research Interests

Catalytic Asymmetric Synthesis for Carbon-Carbon Bond Formation, Catalytic Asymmetric Oxidation

Awards and Honors

Organic Reaction Lecturer, 1988; IBM Science Award, 1988

Houkou Award, 1991; Chunichi Award, 1992

Prelog Medal, 1993; Merck-Schuchardt Lectureship, 1994

The Chemical Society of Japan Award, 1995

Toray Science and Technology Award, 1997; Max-Tishler Prize, 1998

Le Grand Prix de la Fondation Maison de la Chimie, 2002

Tetrahedron Chair, 2002; Medal of Honor with Purple Ribbon (Japan), 2002

Molecular Chirality Award, 2003

Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2003

Yamada Prize, 2004; Tetrahedron Prize, 2006

The Karl-Ziegler Professorship, 2006; The Japan Academy Award, 2007

Humboldt Research Award, 2007; Honorary Member of the Chemical Society of Japan, 2008

Honorary Fellow of the Chemical Research Society of India, 2008

ACS Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry, 2009

Grand Prize of Synthetic Organic Chemistry of Japan, 2009

Member of American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 2011

Noyori Prize, 2011; Fujiwara Prize, 2012